Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Frisky!

Spent the morning adding stuff on to Gumtree. Quite fun. And it gets results. The phone’s been going all day, and three people coming round tonight to pick up stuff. Excellent.

Wandered into town to meet a couple of pals at the Club. Posted back the dud battery and dud battery charger (‘You must use our battery charger or it will not work.’) and I suddenly found myself getting Frisky. Sorry, getting a Frisky

I hadn’t even thought about it as I walked along and my feet took me in there before I could protest. I LOVE those frozen yoghurts. I sit and eat a huge one (they call it medium) and listen to the loud music. It’s always good.

On down to the Grassmarket - the place was mobbed. Loads of new students, loads of tourists in huge groups, lots of guided tours (a lot of them free - pay what you think). The light was spectacular - white billowy clouds and and great grey and black ones and bright sunshine. I took so many photos on the way.

There was one beardie chap in a kilt and bunnet who was about to cross the road, but suddenly had a swarm of German women around him, taking photos. He was loving it! I listened to some of his chatter, in fact, I joined in the photo session. His bunnet was, he said, 150 years old, handed down through the generations. They took photos of the bunnet. The badge on it was 50 years old. They took photos of the badge.

‘And I could show you something older than that later.’ I wandered off, but I think he may have pulled.

I passed a band setting up drums and walked on for a coffee and chat with my Prestwick pals and they both admired my new camera, especially A...

When I left them, about 5.30, the evening was even more glorious. It was warm and still and everywhere looked fantastic. It just makes you appreciate what a great city it is to live in.

I reluctantly went for my bus, as I was expecting a Gumtree visitor in the evening. But what was that I saw in the distance? A crowd. Music. I rushed over just in time to catch the last of what was obviously a great performance. The crowd were very appreciative. Twanging guitar, drums and bagpipes. And lots of jumping. They must have just eaten a Frisky, though they don't have this effect on me. I got the last jump, and chose this one to show the beautiful city on a beautiful evening.

The band are Spinning Blowfish. I gave them some money, even though I only saw the last few jumps. I hope I’ll catch them again and get my money's worth hear them properly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.