The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Volucella pellucens

Feeling tired today, but unlike yesterday I did manage to get out after work to take a few pics. While I was out and about on Saturday I stopped off at St John's church, (a tiny little church on the back road running through St Leonard's forest) and I was pleased to see the graveyard was overgrown with beautiful Devil's bit scabious. Succisa pratensis. There were bumble bees everywhere, and a good selection of late summer hover flies.
So today, desperate to try to find a decent blip, I headed out that way after work to see what I could find.........sadly, half the churchyard had already been cut, so I dashed in while I still could hoping to find something interesting. All the usual suspects were there, including this lovely Volucella pellucens.
I love the Volucella hoverflies, and we get all 5 species in Sussex, of which V. pellucens is probably the most common. at 15-16 mm it is one of Britians largest flies. The females lay their eggs in the nests of common wasps, and the resulting larvae scavenge on the debris on the nest floor. When they are mature they drop out of the nest, and pupate in the soil below....all very clever! This is a female, as the eyes don't touch.
The devil's bit scabious was interesting too, as apart from the common purple colour there were also some flower heads that were white and some a lovely delicate pale pink colour.
so today's blip is Volucella pellucens, on two colours of Devil's bit scabious.
Two for the price of one!!! which is just as well really, as I am feeling a bit like I am loosing my Bliping mojo.......not sure if it's the oncoming winter or what, but I feel it is almost impossible some days to get decent pics, and I really want to, as one of the things that keeps me going is the thought of being able to buy a year book at the end of 365 days! Thanks for all your stars and comments, it all means a huge amount!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.