Cully

By Cully

Piwo - 6 Zloty!

Beer - £1.20!

Now I do try to take interesting, almost cultured photographs when I am away on holiday but as I am back blipping and sifting through all the photos of Krakow there is definitely a theme running throughout the weekend - me and the boy with a beer!

I challenge everyone to go to Poland and not have a beer or a vodka for that matter. I think it is almost impossible! As little as £1.20 for 1/2 litre (nearly a pint) and it's bl**dy good!

Anyway we arrived at our hotel at around 2pm and after our welcome appetisers (how posh) we decided to test out the bed (for sleeping in!). And it was so good we woke at 4pm. Angry with myself for wasting valuable sightseeing time we quickly showered and headed for the main square but not before hitting happy hour at the hotel for a swift strawberry daquiri.

We soon hit the beautiful square of old buildings with a cloth hall in the centre selling so-called 'authentic' polish crafts and bars all around the edge. We had a beer in one bar, then moved on to the next for another, whilst street entertainers danced, blew giant bubbles and made amusing shadows against the buildings in the fading light.

We then seeked out a lovely little restaurant where the boy had veal to start, then quail and a beer. I had Rabbit loin (sorry Charlie17) with celeriac crisps, parsnip puree, spinach cakes and truffle sauce with a glass of wine. It was amazing and the bill came to just £30.

Am I selling Poland to you yet?

Rather full but thirsty for another beer, me and the boy stumbled upon a tiny jazz bar, Harris Piano Jazz Bar. It was packed with locals and the odd tourist all merry for a Wednesday night. After listening to two jazz bands, we headed back to the hotel gone twelve, in love with the city and eager to wake early to explore more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.