Cully

By Cully

Where's your list Schlinder?

After a lovely 2 course breakfast for myself and a six course breakfast for the boy we headed for Schlinders Factory via the Jewish quarter. Taking in the sights of old antiques at the market, a bar with vintage singer sewing machines on every table, not leaving much room for your beer, Smells of zapiekanka (Polands' equivalent to pizza), and sounds of golf caddies transporting tourists around the city, we walked to a bridge to take us over the Vistula river.

The bridge was covered in padlocks with couples initials written or scribed into the lock. I have googled it since and believe 'love locks' are all over the world. This bridge in particular is where couples lock their, err, lock onto the bridge and throw the key over the side of the bridge into the river, suggesting their love will never be broken. Unfortunately you can see where some people have come along with bolt cutters to remove the love lock. Bearing a grudge I'd say!

Anyway, we finally got to Schlinders factory, a very sterile white building just as it looks on the film but without the lettering on the front (I don't know why). I have to admit I was a little disappointed by the factory. I was hoping that it would have been kept how it was, leaving you to imagine what it would have been like to have worked their safe from concentration camps. But instead it had been turned into a world war 2 museum with very little mention of Schlinder himself. Apart from a small piece about how the part of the film, where Schlinder's reads out the names of the jews he wanted to save, is fiction! Cheers for that. Granted it is a good museum, very informative and well done but it really could have been in any building in Krakow.

A golf caddie bought us back to the Jewish centre for beer and a tasty beetroot soup with dumplings (while in Poland ay?).

Shattered and in need of an early night for tomorrow's excursion we popped to a nearby restaurant for yet more meat. The boy ordered Pork stew to start. Full from the lunchtime soup, I declined a starter but then ate half of the pork stew when it arrived. It was simply a hot pork sandwich with thick gravy smothered all over it. I was in heaven. My venison main wasn't bad either. The waiter was very generous with his honey vodka too, we managed to get four each for free before we left still leaving us with a thirst for more.

It was so hard to choose just one pic today but decided on this piece of graffiti. It has absolutely no relevance to the text above but it simply caught my eye and makes me smile, I don't know why, just under appreciated talent I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.