South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Petworth House kitchen maid

Well, both my grandmothers were in service in big houses in the early 1900's, so I thought I should follow suit!

We had a really good day out at Petworth House today. Very interesting place with huge collection of sculptures and paintings. We will have to go back as you just couldn't take it all in. The kitchens were fascinating with all the old pots and cookers including a huge contraption built around a fireplace in the 1600's. The ladles they had to use to cook on it were about four feet long - so they didn't get burnt I suppose! Paul kindly lent me his super duper little Canon s90 camera - it did a really good job indoors. (I read in advance that flash wasn't allowed, so I knew my cheaper camera would be no good). Paul used his Nikon instead, and this photo was taken with that.

The staff were lovely - very friendly and informative - and it made the whole visit so much more pleasurable. Will definitely be going there again, especially as we all took out National Trust membership today, so can go back free!! This is apparently the last year that Paul can get junior membership, as it goes up to age 25!! (we'd never heard of this before now!)There are at least 6 other places near here that we can visit, so it's well worth it, especially as we got our entrance fees for today refunded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.