Tokyo Skytree: Eye in the Sky

Evelyn "Champagne" King - Love Come Down

Another incredible day, alone and exploring Tokyo the way I want. The cathartic need to feel alive again is found in her streets for me. The obligatory visit to the tallest structure in Japan was definitely on the "to-do" list. I didn't really want to go but I thought it necessary and I had to wait in line for 1.5 hours for a ticket and another 15min before getting into the elevator after a security check. To be fair, I should have been there early in the morning instead of 12pm.

For whatever reason I was listening to 80s funky r'n'b / pop like Luther Vandross, George Benson, Earth Wind and Fire, Chaka Khan and the Jacksons. This song, Love Come Down, just came on but the melody just got me so happy. I played it over a bagillion times whilst I was boogy-ing in line. I'm like, who cares, I'm gonna have fun and enjoy myself.

The elevator to the floor 350m above sea level travelled at 600m a minute. It was jaw dropping to say the least, and blew away the lift from the Landmark Tower in Yokohama. The weather was beautiful and I could see so far; the beautiful city that clutches at my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.