One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

Remembering

There was little doubt about the subject for today but my first idea based around the timing of the event didn't quite work out. So I decided to go for something simpler but tie in with the photo I took in New York. On the photo I took at Ground Zero on 8th August, the name you can best distinguish is that of Geoffrey E Guja. So, I thought I would try and find a bit out about him. This is actually surprisingly easy by the way. He was an active firefighter based in Brooklyn but, due to being in recovery from an injury, was on light duty and hence not obliged to attend the scene. Nevertheless, he and a colleague took the subway to the site and joined up with another unit and was killed when the towers collapsed - he was 47. He is now commemorated on the South pool amongst the First Responders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.