Milky Way over Kinloch Hourn

A year or 2 after I moved to Scotland, I drove the long winding road to Kinloch Hourn and walked into the rough bounds of Knoydart with my dog Bob, who was about the same age as Marley is now.

We climbed Ladhar Bhienn (pronounced "Larven") and I remember him chasing a magnificent stag and two hinds in the corrie on the way down. He was a real mountain dog through and through and I promised him then that I would bring him back to this spot one day.

Well, his ashes have been sitting on top of the wardrobe since 2007 and I've never made it back until now. I've landed in Kinloch Hourn after a hair raising drive in the dark along the longest 21 mile single-track road in Scotland, to be greeted by the starriest sky i've seen in years. Thanks Bob, for bringing me back to this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.