Survivor

When I bought 4 more pullets from this young poultrykeeper a few weeks ago I didn't realise that one was such a tiny little bantam. I feared for her safety when I finally let them free to roam with the other birds a few days ago, but was relieved that she stuck close by another young chicken of the same colour and didn't appear to have aroused the interest of the cats.

I was wrong. Two days ago as I put them away for the night Fred pounced. (Yes, the not-at-all-'armless, if neccessary, Fred. ) I chased him all around the house with the chick in his mouth. Finally he dropped her and she scuttled into the long grass. When I retrieved her she was rigid and quivering and I was dismayed to find blood on my hand - Fred had wounded her. I put her in the conservatory where she jammed herself behind a folded table and remained unmoving. I didn't expect her to be alive in the morning, assuming stress and/or infection would claim her overnight. But she was, although not eating or drinking. I put her in a cardboard box with water and a variety of titbits that she ignored. She kept peep-peep-peeping in a weak chirp. This morning, of the second day, her voice was stronger, she was moving around - and yes, pecking the pellets!

Now what? If I release her she will surely become again a titbit for Fred. At present she will have to remain sequestered for her own safety. With 6 cats in residence her chances don't look good unless she grows. She has however acquired a name: Gloria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.