Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Electronic music

Last year I blipped about my ritual of getting my music notebook prepared for the choir term - it involved a lot of paper copying, shuffling, punching, arranging....The last term I sang in the choir, I discovered that I could scan all my music and load it onto my iPad. It is genius! There are so many advantages, such as not having to carry around a big notebook full of music, not getting pages out of order or rifling through a stack to find what I need, plus I'm saving paper; the scanned music looks clean and sharp and won't get wrinkles or creases. I can enlarge the text on the screen if I need to get a better look at a note or music notation or lyrics ....

It took a bit of trial and error to find the right apps to get it organized. I need to be able to scroll through the pages pretty quickly; one app I tried took way too long to load a page. I finally found Goodnotes -- everything loads quite fast. AND I can mark the pages up with red "ink" or yellow highlight, or even type in text right on the score.

No going back to big binders full of music for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.