What September Means

Life moves so quickly.

It seems as if I closed my eyes for only a moment after our spring performance, and now open them to the start of another fall season. Yes, today was the first rehearsal for my chorus, Allegra Women's Ensemble (above) and I'd say we got off to a very good start. With extra performances throughout the season, we'll be moving at a faster clip in order to get all the music under our belts and into our heads in time.

Then yesterday, I began cello lessons with a brand new teacher. After many years studying with Pall Grondal, who gave me my first introduction to cello, it's an interesting change to now be under the direction of a very talented young woman - young enough to be my daughter! With singing and cello, and a new orchestra, September has come to represent the commencement of a new musical season.

Yes, life moves much too quickly. It's hard to believe that twelve years ago today 19 hijackers in four airplanes killed more than 3,000 men, women, and children on American soil. The attack cast a surreal cloud over what was already a fairly tumultuous year in my life and served, in many ways, as a turning point for myself, and for much of the country as well. This too, is September.


Sing out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.