Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Bayshore Rehearsal #1

You are looking at two thirds of our cello section (me, and principle cellist, Caroline). The other one third (Joan) is snapping this photo, and that fellow there is Travis, our conductor, as well as music teacher in the Bellingham school district, and cellist with the Whatcom Symphony.

Joan and I had an excellent first rehearsal tonight with our new orchestral group at the Bayshore Symphony (formerly, The Bayshore Project, which I actually prefer). I, for one, have my work cut out for me, but it's work I thoroughly enjoy.

We rehearse each week at St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Mt. Vernon, WA, a beautiful church with a warm, open interior, excellent acoustics, excellent lighting, and -- ample electrical sockets built into the floor so stand lights can be plugged in. They thought of everything. (now I need to get a stand light)

Tonight, we ran through all our pieces at full tempo, which was a bit hair-raising for some of us. However, this provided us a flavor of how the final product would sound, and a clearer sense of where the tricky spots would be so we could better focus our practice time.

The music is certainly a challenge, but well worth it. I'm feeling pretty pumped up and looking forward to our two winter performances in November!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.