Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Chemistry Homework

Early this morning my daughter telephoned to ask me what day it was and I immediately said, the day I ran over Dougal. Wrong, she expected me to say that it was her wedding anniversary; this was the first time I had forgotten in twenty-one years. I actually did run over Dougal a year ago on the thirteenth, but it was a Thursday. I wonder what I will blip tomorrow?

This morning I loaded Microsoft Office onto my Mac so that I can use it for students work; it loaded beautifully. Then I loaded a PC version onto the Sony; disaster! It loaded in a strange language and after almost four hours of trawling the Internet looking for a solution and checking the settings on the Sony, I telephone PC World where the software came from. After getting me to check all the things I had already done, he checked with a colleague, who said that Microsoft did not allow you to change the language once you had set it.

I telephoned Microsoft expecting no help whatsoever, but got a very nice lady who talked me through downloading a ‘patch’ and reinstalling the software. It seems that when you set your country and language, if you then scroll down to the next box, using your mouse, it changes the language! Something many others have done before me. So although I still do not love, or even like Microsoft, they did sort out this problem.

This afternoon Mr A accompanied me to my daughter’s home as Oliver had requested some help with Chemistry homework. It was something that most students had been given to do over the summer, but as he only changed to this option after he got his results, he had not been given it. It was given to him today and has to be handed in tomorrow! This picture shows them hard at work at the kitchen table although looking at it, it is not as sharp as it should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.