Swing!

Lots of fun had today at a deserted Waddesdon Manor today with Mrs L and Cousin T.
A completely wasted trip into Aylesbury.
And a day spent fretting about Miss E.
My dislike of and inability to cope with change is rearing its ugly head.
The difference between Reception and Year 1 seems to be unexpectedly massive. Miss E had a huge meltdown this morning, screaming and kicking out. Over a cardboard box!
When I dropped her off this morning I made the mistake of looking back at her through the door and she seemed so tiny and so lost.
Everyone was sitting at their tables colouring in silence when we arrived. I thought the school day started at 8.55am and they could just play in the classroom between 8.30am and then like in Reception.
Apparently not.
Miss E's sat at a table with two boys she doesn't really talk about and it just made me so sad. It was all I could do not to go in and cuddle her.
The other thing is that she's been put in a literacy group with Year 2 children and she has spelling homework every night.
I should be pleased that they see that she's quite able and that they're pushing her. But it's too much. She's five. I get the awful feeling she's going to have a spelling test on Monday.
She can't bear to fail, what if she can't cope?
And I read an article yesterday that said they shouldn't even start school so young.....
And I read another article that said children should be allowed to be children, not have every second of their lives scheduled. Miss E does karate, ballet, swimming and gymnastics.
All of which I think she loves but what if it's too much?
Now homework too. We didn't even have homework in primary school.
When's she's supposed to just play and be five?
I'm not an over-ambitious pushy parent - quite the opposite I've realised over the last couple of days! - but what if she feels that I am?
Why isn't there more time?
I'll be fine. I'll get used to Year 1; realise it's "proper" school not early years fun!
She'll be fine. And if she's not we'll deal with it.

On a more positive note, I found out last night that I got tickets for the recording of Strictly in a few weeks. Woohoo!!!!
To say I am excited would be an understatement!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.