Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Sick Day

I used to have a "job" where I left my house in the morning, drove to work, sat at a desk from 9am till 5pm, carried out several tasks throughout the day for Managers and other teams and left the office to come home and relax. If I woke up in the morning, feeling poorly, I'd call the office to say I wasn't going in and would probably have spent most of the morning in bed and the remainder of the day lounging on the settee. On those occasions, a temp would be called in to carry out my work for the day or other colleagues would do my work - essentially my usual tasks of every day would still get done - just by someone else.
As a Mum with a partner who works full-time, you don't get the luxury of calling in sick, there's no lie-in until you feel like getting up and there's certainly not a colleague to carry out your work while you recover.
I could have certainly called in for a sick day today. Sheer exhaustion has attacked me and knocked me off my feet today.
My tongue is covered in ulcers, which is being treated with a mouthwash that destroys all taste buds and therefore all appetite. A lack of appetite and the ulcers have made it very hard to eat food and drink. And, 4 nights of crazy, surreal and emotional dreams has resulted in a very little sleep.
Luckily, DM has been at school all day, R&P have been at Playschool all day and Aj had a sleep this afternoon which gave me a chance to rest on the settee for the afternoon. Friends have helped throughout the day and Peach has come home and kept the girls busy and fed.
Tomorrow I'll be back on my feet and catching up with the "jobs", I haven't been able to get done today.
For now, the highlight of the day was cuddles and giggles from Aj whilst attempting to laze on the settee. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.