Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

O'Connell Angel

Met Carl for lunch in town. The Grand Central for pub grub wasn't the best choice we've ever made. The food was adequate at best and over-priced. Service was the best aspect. Our waitress was delightful, and even cut up my food for me so I could handle it one-handed with a fork.

We went window-shopping in Arnotts and on Henry Street and then made our way to The Church bar/restaurant on the corner of Mary St/Jervis St for a drink or two. It's a while since we'd been there, and we fell in love with the place all over again. It really is one of the better pubs around town, and is a fine example of how a change of use can be handled really well (I've uploaded two interior shots to Picasa, here and here).

We finished the day with much better food than at lunchtime, in Romano's Italian restaurant on Capel Street. The day had begun badly, with miserable persistent drizzle, but we made the most of it and had a fine old time.

The blip is of one of the angels at the base of the O'Connell monument on O'Connell Street, where I waited for Carl to make his way in to town. This is a crop of about a quarter of the original -- I really do love my new X100!

Worth seeing BIG.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.