Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

A toast

A rare day today, since I was elsewhere and doing something else when I'd normally be at our weekly music session. I got a call yesterday from the production company, summoning me for filming for the TV reality show, beginning at 3:30 pm.

It was the usual round of on-camera interviews to begin with, and then we were picked up and brought to a surprise venue for the beginning of an evening out. Things began in a roller disco way over on the western outskirts of the city (a none-too-popular choice with some). I played the health card even though it was obvious to everyone that there was no way I could get out on the rink on roller skates with my arm in a sling and my wrist in a cast. I did have some fun as a fly on the wall and shot off some photos of the others.

After that we were brought to a night club in the city centre. It was Lafayette at the junction of D'Olier St and Westmoreland St, a place I'd seen a few times while passing by and thought it might be an idea to drop in some time. Now I don't need to. It was all rather disappointing, a bit on the tacky and down-market side and rather lacking in atmosphere. Still, we had a reasonably good time. My mate Alan is one of the 'stars' of the show, and he revelled in showing off his professional skills by balancing glasses on a tray and pouring champagne for a 'cheers' toast.

Carl made a point of waiting until the film crew had gone before he showed up. Things broke up at 11:45 or so (just shows how below par the experience was!), and he and I went on to Doyle's in College Green our favourite spot to while away some time while waiting for the NiteLink. We were back in his place by 1:40 am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.