Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

View through the DART

Carl isn't usually much of a one for sport, so I was suitably surprised to see him glued (well, slight exaggeration) to coverage of The America's Cup this morning. We'd seen earlier coverage in the local Glasthule pub a week ago and had been struck by the wonderful coverage. New Zealand are in what must be an unassailable position, leading 7-1 with only 9 needed to ensure the overall win.

Afterwards it was time for Moto GP, this time from San Marino. It was sort-of an exciting race. Former whiz and now old-hand Valentino Rossi was in third for a while, but then slipped back. The brilliant Marc Marquez finished second to Jorge Lorenzo, who'd led all the way, while Dani Pedroso was third. So Marquez, who also finished second in the previous race with a dislocated shoulder, extended his Championship lead to 34 points with five races to go.

I caught the DART back home at 2:30-ish. It was a fine afternoon after an unpromising start, and the view along the coast almost tempted me to change my plan and stop in town to watch the FlightFest. Knowing now that the crowd was estimated to have been 130,000, I'm glad I didn't stop, since being jostled with a cast on my wrist and my arm in a sling wouldn't have been much fun. The closest I got to the FlightFest was a distant view of some formation or other flying over while I waited for my DART at Glasthule.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.