Checkerboard Cookies

Word of Zebra Cookies spread fast. The following day someone was in my office asking for a plate of them (and willing to pay for the ingredients!) It seemed like the perfect deal to me.

I took some liberty with the order and made Checkerboard Cookies instead. The recipe involves a couple extra steps of cutting and flipping the dough then gently squishing it back together in the right pattern. I wouldn't call them easy, but they were a fun challenge. After the dough is cut, lined up, and squished into a square log, it must be refrigerated for a few hours or overnight.

The pros of living in a hot country include my butter softening quickly, which is very convenient when I decide to make cookies at the last minute. The cons include my cookie dough log getting soft and squishy in between baking sets of the cut cookies. A few minutes in the freezer took care of that problem. How blessed we are to have a freezer, oven, and cookie dough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.