To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Ant's Eye View

Queen Anne, Queen Anne has washed her lace
(She chose a summer's day)
And hung it on a grassy place
To whiten, if it may.

Queen Anne, Queen Anne has left it there,
And slept the dewy night;
Then waked to find the sunshine fair,
And all the meadows white.

Queen Anne, Queen Anne is dead and gone
(She died a summer's day),
But left her lace to whiten on
Each weed-entangled way!

~Mary Leslie Newton

________________


I stopped along a road to take a photo of this Queen Anne's lace. While I was taking the photo, a man in a truck pulled up, got out, and approached me. I expected him to say something like, "What are you doing?" or "Can I ask why you're taking photos?" but he said, "I see you're taking pictures of the wildflowers. I'm the gardener and we've been throwing fistfuls of wildflower seeds along here the past coupla years. Nice to see they caught your eye!" They did indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.