MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Large Reclining Figure

I visited the Moore Rodin exhibition at The Henry Moore Foundation, Perry Green this afternoon.

I actually went to look at the Rodin sculptures as I read in today's paper of the upcoming, Shunga: Sex and Pleasure in Japanese Art exhibition at the British Museum. Evidently Rodin was influenced by shunga.

I first came across shunga whilst researching Hokusai, whose woodcut, The Great Wave Off Kanagawa, is one of my favourite images. His, The Dream Of The Fisherman's Wife, is one of the most famous erotic shunga woodcuts.

I think the shunga influence was seen in Rodin's work on paper rather than in his sculptures. I intended to Blip a Rodin or a Rodin and Moore in the same frame but the above bronze was so strong it jumped off the page. I must admit that I found Rodin's sculptures rather rough hewn in comparison with the sensuous smoothness of Moore's. Rodin's Adam looks a bit ungainly to me, especially about the hands and feet. I nestled an apple in the crook of Eve's arm but the pic didn't have the power of the above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.