The Contemplation Of Navels

The Swan fete went off well. My sister and I won the Boozy Barrow, the star prize of a wheelbarrow full beer, wines and spirits. We donated it to the care home staff.

The weather was perfect and everyone, apart from our Mother, enjoyed themselves. We were entertained by a singer and then a pair of belly dancers. The best dancer was the older of the two, a pretty woman with a slim, toned, body that some sixteen-year-olds would be happy to have but she was no spring chicken. I heard her telling someone that she has three sons in their mid thirties.

It has got me thinking. Thinking about that horrid 'joke' about the 1664 beer bottle. I wonder if she is like me and feels that she has let people down by having grown old?

I remember watching a fully clothed young village girl in Turkey dropping her hip beautifully and being entranced. I don't know what to think. I really enjoyed this mature woman's performance, I loved her sparkly costumes and the music, yet I have decided to portray her in kind soft focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.