Dancersend

By Dancersend

Solitary Amanita

It was very wet at the nature reserve this afternoon so I didn't get more of my Chiltern Gentian survey done. Instead, I went to a particular scrubby clearing in the wood to check out a report of an interesting plant by a visitor. With rain trickling down my neck and my trousers soaked from wet vegetation I spotted a large white fungus in amongst the scrub. On looking closer I saw it was Amanita echinocephala, a species I haven't seen for a few years. I immediately went to check a couple of areas where it used to appear and, sure enough, there were specimens there as well.

This is quite a rare species living on chalky soil in grassy areas adjacent to beech woods. It has recently been given the common name of Solitary Amanita. Whilst this is sort of accurate in that they never seem to appear in groups, it doesn't really describe the physical characteristics at all. The Latin name is much more useful, meaning 'with a spiny or hedgehog head', and describes well the raised pyramidal warts that cover the cap.

This particular specimen had been partially eaten on one side, revealing the deep gills and the sturdy stem with a bulbous base and rings. I'm expecting to find some the size of dinner plates over the next few days if the warm and damp conditions continue.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.