stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Road to Somewhere

Cape Byron Lighthouse, Byron Bay, New South Wales

I woke with mixed emotions today. I have spent the most wonderful couple of days with Gitama and her family and loved every minute. I've mentioned before the wonderful hospitality of everyone I've met, but to open one's house to a complete stranger as they did was something a little special again. I am more than just a little sad to be moving on but I do so with some more wonderful, happy memories. Breakfast was postponed this morning though, as G and I made off for one last jaunt. A wee trip down to Byron Bay and back to the lighthouse. You won't be surprised to hear that it was yet another glorious day with ne'er a cloud in the sky, but I thought I'd do something a little more fun with my shot today, rather than just a straight process.

The Cape Byron lighthouse lies just above the most easterly point in mainland Australia. There are over 6,500 wrecks around the waters of Australia. Reading about the various lighthouses I have shot over the past couple of weeks, I am often surprised how long it took the authorities to decide to build them. In some cases, scores of ships were left wrecked on the craggy promontories and hidden reefs and rocks of the southern and western coasts and still procrastination was the answer. Cape Byron was no different. I really must do a little more digging and try to find out why this was the case. Of the 15 ships wrecked at Byron Bay, 12 were prior to the lighthouse being constructed. Although it had been explored in the early 19th century, it wasn't until the start of the 20th that construction began on what is now the country's most powerful light. It seems incredible by today's standards that life would be thought so cheap, but then again, you only have to look at the terrible risks that some people are still making to reach these shores.

It is also a popular tourist attraction, not only for visiting the lighthouse itself, but also to watch the waters below for passing whales and dolphins. It came as little surprise then when a few whales were spotted from the headland. Below, the small watching boats followed and were joined by numerous kayakers, determined to have the experience of a lifetime, and a few did just that. For the rest of us viewing from on high, the sightings were met with gasps of delight and joy. I love the fact that the locals, who must experience this every year, still find wonder in seeing these beautiful creatures, even from a distance. It comes as no surprise though. I don't think its a sight I would ever get bored seeing either. Further excitement came as first, a pod of dolphins passed by, closer into shore before a second pair of whales passed in the opposite direction from the first. It certainly whetted my appetite for the days ahead at Hervey Bay.

Back up the road to pack, there was one last ceremonial duty to be had, a toast farewell with the Quaich. With me driving and Flynn most definitely under-age, it was decided to fill the bowl with water. It was something Flynn was looking forward to immensely. However, the cup of tea had its own back as he had to wait patiently for that to be drained first. It was a struggle and he tried every trick in the book with all around the table to get his hands on the pewter chalice. All to no avail. When the time came, the drinking cup was passed from person to person, to sup and say a fond farewell. When Flynn finally got his chance, he lapped at the clear liquid and asked for more. Heh, that boy will grow up with hairs on his chest for sure! With the car loaded, there was a final round of hugs and it was time to go... Thanks so very much guys. I've just loved every moment of my stay! :-)

And so began the long journey up the road to... Brisbane! Yep, I was actually on the road for just a couple of hours as I popped in to say Happy Birthday to J, who was celebrating her big day with family and friends. It was however, a lightning fast stop since, surprise, surprise, I was running late again and within a couple of hours I had to say my goodbye's and be on my way once more.

From there, to be honest, it was just a slog of a drive, although I was treated to an absolutely gorgeous sunset. Before long though, the light had gone and I was driving in the dark once more, oblivious to the landscape around me. I arrived at my hotel just outside Hervey Bay just before 8pm as planned (gasp!), checked in and discovered I had found another town that closes its doors early in winter. At least there were a few fast food places open, so I headed to the chippy for more made-to-order fish and chips. What a brilliant idea! The shop even had a sit in area, which was playing host to a single couple and while I waited for my dinner, the man came over with a couple of vegetable fritters and said they were so good I should try them. Haha, I didn't think I'd been drooling! Just another example of warmth I experienced over here. Collecting my dinner and thanking the couple on my way out, it was up the road to have tea and then get to bed. My early starts are about to begin again...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.