Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

The other Portlandia

This is the original Portlandia - as opposed to the television series by the same name. She is probably one of the most photographed objects in Portland. She graces the Portland Building downtown and has since 1985. According to that bastion of information, Wikipedia, it is the second largest copper repoussé statue in the States, after the Statue of Liberty.

Though her presence is a bit controversial, I have always loved this statue. She is strong and capable, reaching out with one hand to guide and support, while the other hand holds a trident, a symbol of leadership. I used to work in this building and would give her a little nod every morning as I walked to the front door. I always felt like she watched over me.

Here's a full-on view of her from across the street. You can see how she's perched on a ledge, at about the tenth floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.