Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Old and New

Went to Manchester this morning to spend an M and S voucher that was burning a hole in my pocket.

This is Shambles Square, a place that would have seen blood and offal in the gutters in the 16th century - none today, despite the presence of Crystal Palace fans (just gone down to 10 men, get in there RVP).

The building on the far left dates from the mid 16th Century, and as you move to the right the buildings become gradually more modern, ending up with the world's largest Next store.

Successful shopping was done, and I got chatting to a lovely homeless chap and his dog, Buster. It was only afterwards I realised I should have taken his photo for my Blip - I'm not cut out for street photography - went back but he had been moved on.

David found the perfect jacket, but it was in Next, which is very uncool, so he wouldn't buy it. I despair... Anyway, he asked what I'd bought, so I told him " a jacket and four tops" then I started singing this (check out those sharp suits!). He didn't find it funny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.