Snapshots of rural France

By SuzB

bicyclette

We decided after a fairly late morning, to wander over to Confolens for some fish and chips à l'anglaise. This dreary wet grey weather gives one a need for comfort food, and this saved having to cook today. I took this shot on the way home, coming through the village of St Germain de Confolens. It has given me an idea for my own very rusty old french bike...
Have now started putting our holiday cottage 'to bed' for the winter, and whilst I was in there I thought how warm it feels even on a day like this. These old stone cottages were certainly built right, the façade faces south south east and the limestone warms up, and stays warm for a while even after the end of summer. Our final guests of the year were absolutely charming and have said they will definitely be back next year! We must be doing something right! I'm quite happy we have no-one in now as we can concentrate on getting ready for our own 'summer' holiday...

Later on this afternoon I took this shot as the rain really poured down chez nous. Have had to mop up and put down towels in the hallway as the rain was so heavy it came under the front door. Thankfully the ground floor is all tiles so not too much hassle. Hopefully it will ease off overnight.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.