EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

The Exaltation of the Holy Cross

Is observed today in the Eastern Orthodox Churches. With everything going on in my life right now, it almost came and went without me noticing. Tonight, I am back at home, thanks to my mother's generosity, and I needed a blip and wanted to find a way to commemorate this feast day. This cross is another of my Russian treasures -- or I should say -- the "other" one, because this and the icon of Unexpected Joy are the only things I have that are both Russian and treasures.

I love the enameling on this cross. The detailed symbolism is amazing. It was hard to decide whether to show you the whole thing or just a portion of the detail. I will add a link with more details for anyone who is interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.