Remembrance

I got the DART from Sandycove/Glasthule to Connolly Station and walked from there to the Mater hospital, arriving well in advance of my assessment appointment with the heart surgeon. Things didn't seem right when I went into the surgical out-patients area, which was unusually under-populated. There was no sign of a reception area or anything like that, so I went up to one of the nurses to announce myself. 'Prof. Wood?', he asked. 'I think that clinic is cancelled. Take a seat and we'll sort you out.' Sure enough, I'd turned up for something which wasn't happening. The nurse put me on to the surgeon's secretary, who covered herself by telling me that she'd left a message on my home answering machine yesterday explaining that only two people were scheduled to see the surgeon today, and 'we can't run a clinic for only two people'. I was disappointed, naturally, and not too happy that she hadn't listened to my recorded message, which gives my mobile number as an alternative line of contact: and this mobile number is also noted in my patient record anyway.

So, it'll be another week before I get to see the main man and ask him all the questions I have to ask: mainly, when can I drive, and when can I travel abroad.

At least I got in another good walk, since I legged it back to Abbey Street from the Mater and got a bus back home, passing and taking a Blip stop at the Garden of Remembrance in Parnell Square on the way. The rest of the day was packed with laziness.

Apologies for neglect of Blipfoto over recent days. The development of a posting gap was due in part to the fact that I didn't being my MacBook with me to Carl's place, so couldn't upload. I've half filled the gap now, with this and Tuesday and Wednesday now uploaded. I'll be back later to fill the remaining gap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.