WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Ile Sainte Lucie

It's the Journées du Patrimoine (heritage days) this weekend. If I'd known earlier that it was open, I'd have liked to go to the camp at Rivesaltes, visited by TickyTocky yesterday. But I was travelling home yesterday, and as far as I could ascertain, it wasn't open today. Too far to go on the off chance.

Instead, we went to the Ile Sainte Lucie, a nature reserve near Port La Nouvelle, where guided tours were advertised. Within 5 minutes of leaving the car, I managed to trip over a stone on a completely level towpath and fall flat on my face. How fortunate that my camera was fitted with both a lens hood and lens cap. It sustained no damage, and I only had a few minor grazes.

We wandered about for a while before catching up with the guided tour purely by chance. It was worth joining in since we saw parts of the island we wouldn't have seen otherwise, including the ruins of an impressive cave, complete with huge concrete wine vats, in an inaccessible spot at the foot of a cliff. And this elegant old house, once the home of the wine maker. In the attached barns, a collection of old boats is being restored.

It turned out to be a much longer tour than we expected, and after looking at the boats and an associated slideshow, we headed back to the car. I was knackered by the time we got back. So a quiet evening at home for the first time in over a week.

I backblipped yesterday, and also added a few more photos to my PPF set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.