WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Depth of field

For our farewell dinner, Pete and Jill took us to Quai 36 in Tonneins. It is superb, one of the best restaurants I've eaten in for a long time. I'd go back to Tonneins just to eat there. Beautiful food, with traditional flavour combinations (broad beans and dried duck breast, halibut and fennel) presented in unusual ways. The dessert was a delicious array of pineapple prepared four different ways. Sadly, I took neither my camera nor my phone, otherwise I would have taken photos of the food.

Highly recommended, as is the holiday as a whole. Friendly people, a relaxed atmosphere, a beautiful place, and a real learning experience for all of us, from the fumblers (me) to the experts (B, who went from strength to strength during the week). I'm already planning to go again. The only trouble is, I now have a shopping list of kit as long as my arm. Including a new camera :)

Anyway, there were no early starts today, so we had a relaxed morning, even finding the time to pop into Le Mas d'Agenais to see the Rembrandt in the church. I love the fact that even after it was authenticated, it still stayed in the church of this insignificant village, and was not carted off to the Louvre.

One thing I learned in this intensive week of photography was that I like to photograph things that can't be seen with human eyes, or are just seen differently by the camera. Hence this view into the field of wild flowers, which is a product of the camera, not the naked eye. And for the sake of symmetry, here is my before photo of the same field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.