WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

La Grande Bataille

Today we decided to take some photo opportunities in Gruissan, where les Journées du Patrimoine were being celebrated with a Grande Bataille. The "big battle" turned out to be rather petite, with four horses and about a dozen footsoldiers on each side. There was a lot of bumbling about with badly written dialogue bellowed through loudspeakers, before the two sides rushed together, bashed each other feebly with wooden swords for a few minutes, and then keeled over and declared a winner. This was considered so dangerous that the public was kept far, far away on the other side of the lagoon, so it was quite difficult to get any decent photos. Oh well. It was good practice, and we had a nice lunch at l'Estagnol.

My spare blip is a horse's eye; not sure what I like about it, but it pleases me.

Sorry I haven't been able to keep up with commenting the last few days, but I'll do my best to catch up! If you're interested, I've made a Flickr set of photos from the course I went on last week. Not necessarily the greatest photos, but they reflect what I was trying to achieve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.