A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Summer Festivities

All the towns in the Scottish Borders have weird traditions, and they are something that all of the people in the Borders are very proud of. I have previously posted about the Common Ridings and today was something of a similar nature.

Today, Selkirk celebrated the Flodden 500 festival to mark 500 years passing since the battle of Flodden and the returning of Fletcher to his hometown. To me, this doesn't mean very much as I don't know much about the history to it, but it's something the town decided to celebrate with a rideout on horses and with the bands playing in the town.

I went to watch Rory's little sister play in the band. I love hearing the band play, there's something so magical about the way a brass band sounds. I will admit, I still get a little sad that Rory can't play with them any more (work commitments). They played wonderfully today, and despite the horrible weather, everyone who rode the horses seemed to have a wonderful time.

The Scottish Borders is a truly odd and mystical place....but there is something so nice about it's weirdness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.