JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Brand etymology

I've always been fascinated by brand etymology. The name of the company, long before it becomes a brand in the truest sense, is so important. Often it comes from the working title, on occasion it's personal and just simply the name of the founder, while sometimes it's pretty meaningless, just a word or a made-up name, but so perfect and so fitting.

I can't help but think of the Tuesday morning years ago in Glasgow Uni when I bounced off friends the potential name of the business I would go on to form a few months later. Such conversations are common, perhaps in cafes and bars, but for sure in marketing communications agencies and even in law firms when the wee idea goes on to be copyrighted. Love any part of the creative process like this.

I thought on this as my bus home this evening trundled along the lower part of Glasgow's style mile, and past H&M. It stands for Hennes and Mauritz, and it's this kind of name etymology which so intrigued me a bundle of years ago to draft a book, on the subject. These days there's a wikipedia page which will give you the same info, if a less detail, so my fascination with Adidas and Tesco, B&Q and IKEA has diluted somewhat. I'll still want to know, but it's more geeky interest than anything else. Tell me a new one and you'll have me hooked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.