a town called E.

By Eej

For the picking

Because it was so lovely and crisp out I took the long way home.
Because it was so lovely and crisp out I decided to take an even longer way home, which made me head into uncharted territory. That is, it's farther than I've ever cycled and quite frankly I did not really know where I was headed.
The area smells of Concord grapes. It's a heady smell. Like someone recently dropped a bottle of wine.
So I cycled onwards, trying not to smile too broadly for fear of things flying in my mouth, and sniffing up big gulps of grape-y air.

One man dragging off his garbage bin, yelled at me: "It's a lovely day for smelling the grapes!" Ha! Not just me then :)

Before long I realised I should have peed before leaving work, so my half-way point came up a bit sooner than I had planned on. Still, I did 8 miles (including my steepest climb yet/ever), found one of my favourite spots and it was all rather fabulous anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.