Mikey88

By Mikey88

Sharpitor

I did my usual Monday recycling first thing in the morning and then had a trip to Tavistock to go to the bank. Got that out of the way and then drove on to Dartmoor - not the coast as threatened yesterday. According to the weather forecast, the waves will be bigger tomorrow, so I will try then.

I went up to Burrator and parked on the South side, and decided to walk up to the top of Sheepstor. It was a bit showery, but I sheltered from the first shower under the trees and the second one about halfway up the slope under a sloping slab of granite. Very effective shelter.

It was quite a steep climb, but well worth it on getting to the top. Views in all directions - Sharpitor and Leather Tor to the North, as far as Cornwall in the West, the distant moor to the East and all the way to Plymouth and the sea to the South. Pretty breathtaking.

It was very windy up there, and there were more showers heading in from the North West, so after walking around the summit for a while, I set off back down.

I've always disliked going down, and now that my legs aren't working as well as they used to, I took it very slowly on the steeper slopes. It was a relief to reach the more level ground at the bottom and a real pleasure to sit down when I got back to the car.

I worked out that I had been doing some pretty rough Dartmoor walking for about three hours altogether, and my legs really felt it. I have a feeling I'll be getting some cramps during the night, and I'll see how they feel tomorrow before inflicting more pain on them by walking along the South West Coast Path at Boscastle.

Oh to be young and fit again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.