Mikey88

By Mikey88

Splash

As it rained all day, I thought a relevant blip was required. I went down to the nature reserve, but the tide was almost in and there was nothing about. I moved further upriver, to where I could park overlooking the water. I took shots of leaves against the light, ferns growing on the branch of an ancient oak and then spotted the drips from the leaves hitting the water.

As the river, at this point, is right at the bottom of a steep sided valley, and there wasn't much light anyway, shutter speeds were slow. I used my beanbag to rest the lens on the car window and took a lot of shots of the drops hitting the water. Quite a few of them were coming in through the car window!

The slow shutter speed caught the drips as the drops of water fell, but was fast enough to freeze the splash to some extent. It is certainly a better shot than I was expecting to get when I left the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.