The joy of riding in the back

I attended my second Bayshore Symphony rehearsal tonight. This time, I carpooled with Donna and Robert, two violists who also live in Bellingham.

My cello barely fit into the trunk of the Camry, but inside the car, there was plenty of space. Donna was driving, Robert sat up front, and I had the entire backseat to myself.

After a few rounds of chit chat, Donna and Robert (old friends) began conversing between themselves. I found myself drifting off into my own world, returning to childhood memories of riding in the backseat, my imagination floating all over, attempting to entertain myself, the world whizzing by so fast, the low mumble of conversation between my parents up front, soothing in its own way. Tonight, for a time, all my cares and responsibilities were dispelled, and I had only to sit still and relive the simple pleasures of riding in the back.

On another note (no pun intended) I just learned tonight that Peer Gynt was written by Henrik Ibsen, and he invited his friend Edvard Grieg to put the story to music. I'm enjoying In the Hall of the Mountain King, from its quiet, stealthy opening right up to its fast, frenzied ending. A challenge, and so fun to play.

These lovely sunflowers above, stretching as best they can to reach for what little sun we had today, were right around the corner from my house.

What's the state flower of Kansas?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.