New gaff

I made my first trip in a vaguely official capacity to my new place of work within the University of Edinburgh (it was official in the sense that it had been announced in the university by that stage...but I wasn't actually doing anything official apart from talking to a few people about how we might work together). From 1 January 2014, I'll be director of the Institute of Advanced Studies in the Humanities, whose premises are to be found in Hope Park Square down near the Meadows, which is pictured here. I'll be reclaiming a room with a view, and my office will be the one at the top left handside (Bb, if you should choose to visit.... ;-)). But more importantly, it's an exciting new challenge for me, building research activities of an interdisciplinary character and working with a range of visitors and fellows. And luckily I'll be relinquishing my existing responsibilities, as I take on my new ones.

Whilst I was there, there was the fire alarm went off, and everyone had to evacuate and wait for the fire engine to come. I hope it wasn't some sort of signal.

Whoops. The misspelling of gaff/gaffe has just been pointed out to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.