Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Barrel Room

There was a frost this morning. It was quite a heavy one. I was out with the dogs at 6.am and I needed to wear gloves. There were helicopters out in force, hovering over the vulnerable grapevines to hopefully ward off any frost damage. Two were flying over the Wither Hills Vineyards, quite close to where I walk the dogs. The frost machines were whirring away on the Wither Hills block too. They make quite a noise. Luckily for those living nearby frost events that require drastic measures to prevent damage only occur a few times a year.
I wanted to get home well before 8.am in order to get organised prior to watching the Americas Cup races. Alas the winds were too strong in San Francisco Bay and the races for today were cancelled. There were a lot of disappointed people who had arranged to get into work a little later so they could watch the action on the waters beforehand. Team New Zealand has won seven races to Oracle’s one win. We are only two wins off bringing the Cup back here to New Zealand.
So I will have to be up and out the door at 6.am again tomorrow morning if I want to watch the races! Very exciting.
It is my birthday today. My friend Dawn took me to lunch at the Wither Hills Winery. We had a lovely lunch and great fun. The winery building is a very interesting one to photograph. Right down some stairs to almost underground level is the Barrel Room. It has a medieval feel about it. Weddings and corporate (expensive) dinners are held in the Barrel Room from time to time. I photographed the room from several angles in order to produce today’s blip. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.