Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Ready for Planting

I got a couple of texts from Brendan, the manager of Meadowbank Vineyard, today. He told me that they were planning to start planting grape plants today and tomorrow. They will also start laying out the vineyard posts in the next few days. So late this afternoon I drove up to Meadowbank, donned my hi-vis vest and walked onto the property. I walked along a farm track bordering the bare ground. No plants had gone in today but the earth had been ripped where they are to go.
One can see the ripped lines where the grape plants are to be planted in today’s image. It was a gloomy afternoon with rain threatening to come in from the north-west. At least it will be warm rain and that is great timing for planting.
I will be walking alongside the vineyard very early tomorrow morning, well before the contractors arrive to start work. It may well rain but that does not bother me or the dogs. Hopefully I will get home well before the racing for the Americas Cup starts off. Only one win to go before our Team New Zealand can re-claim the Americas Cup…….Go Kiwis!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.