Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

"Gimme a P(ea) Please, Bob . . . ."

After yesterdays splendid display by the Kingfishers I thought I'd return to Park Lime Pits today, armed with my 200mm lens, with hopes of capturing images of the little turquoise coloured anglers in action. The rain was relentless, so I tucked myself safely under the bank-side bushes and waited.

And waited . . .

And waited . . .

And waited . . .

I suppose I should have expected that Sod's law would take hand in things.
2 hours I spent, cowering under a bush, doing my best to keep myself, and more importantly my precious camera, dry. The one day I had a lens capable of capturing the Kingfishers in action they didn't put in an appearance. I reckon they were sat in a nearby tree, laughing at me . . . .

Anyway, the local trio of ducks were soon on the spot, and quickly wolfed down the few pieces of bread I cast onto the water. Then a surprise for them - peas ! !
After being informed, and reading articles online, that bread isn't too good for the little fellas, I'd taken along a few handfuls of peas. As I cast a handful onto the water the ducks backed off - after the invasion of the nature reserve by the local Chav element over the summer months they probably thought I was throwing stones at them. Pretty soon, however, their curiosity got the better of them . . . .
The peas that were floating on the surface were quickly picked off, and the ones that had sunk to the bottom of the shallow margins of the pool were slowly devoured over the next hour. This was pleasing, as its much more like how they eat their natural food - I now feel happy that I'm feeding them but not interfering with their natural feeding instincts . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.