catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Culture shock

So after being here for over 2 weeks now I feel like I have grasped some of the culture shocks.
Firstly, toilet paper. Or the lack of it should I say, many public toilets including those at the university do not have toilet paper. I asked around to find out why as apparently the men's toilets have plenty and the reason behind the lack of toilet paper despite the toilet paper holders are the "Ajummahs" these are a type of middle aged 'woman' who steal the toilet paper... These women are not to be messed with, they will push and shove you to get ahead of you in the line or to get onto the public transport first. They also most of the time have a disgusted face, I don't think they are fond of foreigners...
Secondly attitude an behaviour amongst people is very different, people here are extremely polite and will apologise for the smallest of things yet they find it acceptable to spit anywhere and everywhere, I even saw someone spit in the corridor, it also seems that the louder you spit the better. At my first encounter with this it was an older gentleman and I thought it was because I was foreign as he pretty much spat on my shoe, but no, this is a common thing and most men/boys do it, haven't seen a girl do it yet...
Thirdly, eating and drinking habits. People will openly take food off your plate without asking and even sip from your drink especially if you are the only one drinking soda or alcohol as most only drink water with their food. That is another point, I don't think people here drink alcohol because they enjoy the taste and it accompanies their dish well, they drink to get drunk. It's odd just to have the one pint of beer or the one bowl of rice wine. (White/red wine here is rare, you will find it in the supermarkets but not at the restaurants). But then talking to others from other parts of the world I think this behaviour is very European indeed to drink an alcoholic beverage with your meal and stick to just the one.
There are more differences but these seemed the most odd to me, but I like different, if we were all the same, life would get far too boring. I am getting used to carrying toilet paper in my handbag and watching out for spit in the street...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.