catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

Beer, Chicken and all things Korean

So I have had a few very eventful days, let's start with Thursday.

Thursday evening a big group of us went to a typical Korean restaurant where they serve fried chicken and beer..ok not so Korean but the chicken here is definitely a 100 times better than any chicken dish I have tasted anywhere else in the world, after a few beers we are all ready to go to the karaoke bar!
I must say everyone loved my singing....especially when I try to rap 50 cent or sing Gangnam Style, I am not sure what everyone enjoyed more my singing or my dancing....
Friday night it was Fernando's birthday (guy from Mexico) so the Mexican group and a few others including me went to see a baseball match in the city centre of Daegu, where again we had chicken and beer, it really is a popular dish out here...I won't be starting to follow baseball anytime soon...not much happens and it goes on for more than 3 hours and there wasn't as much singing or chanting going on, I'm glad I've gone but I won't be rushing back.
After a long evening of baseball we head to a bar in the city centre (after spending about 30 minutes trying to get a taxi and actually figuring out where we are) we all had a beer and then everybody but Alysia and I decide to leave. We stay on have a few more beers and a pizza (yes very Korean, I know) and then meet up with some more friends we have made here and go clubbing this turned out into an all night ending in buying food from a 24 hour MacDonalds (how Western can you get?) We left the club at about 4 am but it was still heaving with people, Koreans know how to party, they certainly can stay up late, its very much a 24 hour lifestyle over here! Although people were much more well behaved in the MacDonalds than any MacDonalds I have ever been to in the UK. Although it had your typical homeless drunk passed out that you would find in the UK too.
Oh and instead of buying drinks in the club we would just go outside to the local convenient store and buy beers and take them inside the club..everyone is so laid back, unfortunately they are still allowed to smoke in clubs here which for me as a '92 baby is a totally bizarre concept!
Saturday was a tiring and long day with the lack of sleep but still managed to go to a rock festival and rock out to some Korean rock, which is hilarious, their dancing is on par with mine! The festival was organised by the university which I attend (Yeungnam) and was completely for free, it was a great atmosphere as there was a huge turn out...there were some very funny acts who took themselves far too seriously, each to their own I guess.
And today (Sunday) yet again we (my flatmates and I) went downtown for food and a spot of shopping, afterwards we got back to the university and went to see a British play 'And then there were none' by Agatha Christie performed by the freshmen drama group at Yeungnam, I was really impressed that they did the whole play in English, it was funny at times to hear them trying to do a I guess 'British accent' afterwards we went for a delicious beef meal. I must say the Koreans are masters at cooking meat, its extremely tasty.
Yet again another eventful and fun weekend! This week I will try and cut down on the chicken but it will prove difficult as its delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.