catrionalenka

By catrionalenka

University life

So I am still definitely at the beginning of my learning curve here in Korea as I have definitely encountered some new culture shocks.

Apparently its completely fine to spit in the street, however blowing your nose is frowned upon.

Also I have decided not to opt for the meal plan at the canteen as the food is pretty horrible and eating out is relatively cheap, however this comes with its own obstacles as all the menus are in Korean and rarely have any pictures, so tonight we thought we ordered beef barbecue which is very popular here (they bring you out raw beef and a hot stove and you do it yourself) however what we got with the barbecue was intestine...it tastes like extremely fatty pork, it actually tasted better burnt than anything else. I would not recommend this dish, luckily it only cost us £1.70 each so we went elsewhere and ordered barbecue beef which was delicious!
But it's all a fun learning experience and I would definitely rather taste it once than never do it!

I have met up with Mi Joo several times now and we went on a walk around the beautiful campus where we stumbled upon this hidden lake. It's beautiful to walk around the campus and learn a lot from her about various Korean cultures and traditions. I have even been so lucky to be invited to her family house for Thanks Giving day next week which I am very much looking forward to and feel very honoured to be invited, now I just need to figure out what to get her family as a present, apparently toilet paper here is given to others as a gift however I would feel very odd doing so, we'll see.

I've had a few troubles withdrawing money here, apparently visa cards are rarely expected....that was the ignorant European/Westerner in me expecting visa to work anywhere in the world.. luckily I managed to find a place and pay for my dormitory fees...oh that's another thing for large transactions they don't accept card, only cash, however I could buy a 15p chocolate bar on my card no problem.

Tomorrow most of us (the international students) are going out for a few beers, so I am sure I will have plenty of stories to tell, if I can remember!

Another good few days in Korea well spent, I am having so much fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.