Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mists and mellow fruitfulness

Well, we have the mists (weather is still November-like - jumper AND scarf needed today) and here's the fruit. In accordance with Mr B's instructions, since he is not here to eat all the tomatoes, I am drying them. Obviously I can't do that in the sun (since it has run away to Scotland) so I am making do with the oven, and cheap(er) overnight electricity.

Today was mainly notable for some very stressful morning activity involving the Mac. I learned how to use Terminal (a bit) and learned the power of 'sudo'... I also (after using the power of sudo) learned how to hack my own Mac... (turns out deleting your password file IS important....)

But the upshot is, that I was finally able to complete the clone of my broken hard drive (minus some bits that don't seem to be affecting anything just yet) and I am now operating on by-pass via the clone on my external hard drive. It's like magic. Now I need to find, buy and install a new drive inside the machine. But now I am a sudo master, I feel that will be easy (gulp). Anyway, huge huge thank yous due to dhackett68, without whom, etc etc. Name your price Mr Hackett. Another blipper I know in your environs would take a large dry french sausage as his prize, but I won't stereotype and you can pick what you like as your prize for saving my bacon (iMac). Ironically, it is another Dublin chap who normally fixes our Macs (but he is otherwise engaged in life-changing stuff so I didn't like to bother him). I feel I have learned a lot. I feel I know a bit more about how it all works (tiny bit, like from 0.1% to 0.5%) but that's all good. As you can probably tell, I'm a little bit hyper that my Mac has not crashed since about 10 this morning. With that out of the way, I can start cooking chocolate/chorizo baked goodies for our guests this weekend.

In other happenings, TallGirl had school, despite her alarm not working (one day I will stop being her backup... though at this rate I can see I will still be calling her every morning at 7am to make sure she gets up for work). CarbBoy mostly lay around, but did his homework on the first time of asking and lay around in a mostly tidy way, so can't complain. TallGirl had canoeing this afternoon (and archery and orienteering) with her sports club - sounded like great fun (from what I could gather from the chatter of two girls in the back of the car who'd been giggling with all their new and older pals all afternoon). Then basketball for CarbBoy, riding for TallGirl and finally dinner and blipping.

Yet again I am left wondering where I am ever going to fit a job into all this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.