mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

Birthday Wishes

My birthday didn't get off to the greatest start as James, my birthday-sharing twin, who was meant to drive me up to Warwick with all my stuff spent his birthday in bed with something fluey! This meant that I had to shift all of my packing around and pull out all the basic essentials in order to survive the next few days in my new flat. To top it off, it started raining. Brilliant!

After a lift from my lovely Daddy, a train journey involving two changes, a taxi ride and a quick stop to pick my keys up, I finally made it to my new flat! Instantly all the rainy inconvenience of the day vanished at the sight of my new home and I still can't quite believe that it's mine and essentially rent free. Having shared houses for the last couple of years it's going to be a new experience living alone in a self-contained flat, even if i am still part of a halls of residence. My kitchen is huge, I have a double bed, a lounge area with a sofa and desk and a bathroom all to myself. I was incredibly close to doing a little happy dance. That being said, this will be my first year at Warwick not living with Becky and Vaish which is an odd thought. I will just have to make them visit lots!

After a look round I unpacked all of the belongings that I'd managed to bring and changed before heading out to get the bus to Maddie's. Almost immediately after I arrived Lisa, Maddie's mum, turned up with the puppies massive pooches! Bernard must have at least tripled in size since I last saw him! Andy then poured me a glass of wine and we had a good chill before Maddie served a lovely dinner of spiced carrot and parsnip soup, followed by meatballs with courgette ribbons and a blueberry, apple and almond salad. Delicious.

We then had good fun playing Scattegories before Maddie served me cake along with candles and happy birthday singing which was a nice surprise. We then settled down to watch the first episode of Breaking Bad, which was admittedly very good.

A low key, but rather lovely birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.