The view from Mountshaft

By Mountshaftsview

Time walk

Farming has been in my family for many generations. Today, for the first time, I set foot on our last remaining field, which was left to my brother and I by our late father 25 years ago. It looks like a typical flat fenland meadow, running alongside the river in the back of Peterborough. However a few years ago, it was designated a Ramsar site, due to its world status as a site of special scientific interest. It was quite exhilarating to be able to walk, well hobble, on the land at last and see the map in my mind's eye come to life.
It felt a little bit like walking into the past, as if I was in my own episode of 'Who Do You Think You Are', only unlike the stars on the TV programme, I didn't cry, or visit a library.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.