September Challenge: Day 7 ....

Memento.

Today's the big day! I am officially 50 years old! That's half a century! Yikes!

The only thing we had planned for today was attending a San Diego Padres baseball game. R and I have never been to a major league baseball game so we are both excited about it.

We didn't need to be at the ball park until the afternoon, so we spent the morning at the pool soaking up some more of this gorgeous California sun! Then after lunch we headed over to my niece's house to pick her up ~ we are all going to the ball park together. She only lives about 10 minutes from my mom.

While researching the other day, R found information on some of the San Diego missions. So after picking up C we headed towards California's first mission ~ Mission San Diego De Alcala. This mission was founded in 1769 by Father Junipero Serra. Unfortunately for us, there was a wedding going on in the chapel so we were unable to go inside. But the grounds were very nice.

We had plenty of time after we left the mission so we went to a local mall and got some frozen yogurt. And then headed to the ball park where the Padres play ~ Petco Park . There we met up with my two sisters and my brother-in-law. There were seven of us all together and we were lucky enough to have great seats all together. While watching the game I noticed that there were birthday announcements being displayed. Well, seeing that it is my birthday, I kept watching the display seeing if one would be for me! And much to my surprise there was!! I was thrilled beyond belief!

It was a wonderful evening spent with my family. The only one's missing were my brother, his wife and my other three nieces, who could not make the trip out to California. And my sister Nancy's husband, Joe. And of course, it would have been nice if my late Father was there also. We missed you all!

This picture (and all the others I took) will always be a great memento of my 50th birthday! Shown is the birthday notice, the sign showing the Padres won, and the players celebrating on the field after the win!

It was the best 50th birthday I have ever had! Thank you to my entire family!

Back blipped: September 18

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.