independence day...and photography

It is India's 63rd independence day today. It is a national holiday but used to be festive time when we were in school. There used to be cultural programs, flag hoisting in school and sweets were distributed to everyone. As we grew up, that got lost somewhere. Today went out shopping with parents. It was raining and being a holiday, streets were relatively deserted and the buses relatively less crowded. Shopping was quick as some of the places where mom wanted to go, were closed.
Yesterday's write-up was quite long; I missed something that I wanted to talk about yesterday. In yesterday's shoot, there was pro-ish photographer with us. He told me that Tokina sends lenses directly him for trial. His job is to take exploit the lenses, take some good pictures and send them back to Tokina, who in turn uses them for their publicity. He opened up his bag and started taking out his artillery - a D200, wide lenses, prime lenses, lensbaby, adaptors and what not. And when it came to shooting, he took about 100 shots each of a single frame with just slightly different composition. The rat-tat sound of his shutter filled up the entire house. I somehow don't identify with that kind of photography. I like to look around and absorb the spirit of the place before my shutter gets into action. I don't take too many shots, I look for perspectives, dynamic elements, human touch in a photo, sometime without bothering too much about the technicalities. Sometimes that works for me and sometimes it doesn't. But in the end of the day, I am more content, and I think that's more important (to me at least) rather than getting too mechanical about the whole affair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.